Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Weekend roundup…

After being off work for 3 weeks with a badly infected/blocked ear, making it impossible to ride and driving me mad in the process, I was finally set free on Friday after my second round of syringing. Safe to say, I have been in a much better frame of mind this weekend! And what a fantastic weekend it’s been. My mum came to visit yesterday after spending last week in New York, lucky bugger. She was anxious to see Joseph and present him with some wonderful goodies from the Big Apple!

We all had a lovely day in the sunshine, especially Joseph, whose been discovering the delights of sand and water while the weather has been good! The day was topped off nicely with Fish & Chips after putting a very tired little boy to bed.

And today? Well, on another glorious morning in Manchester I set out early and headed for a leisurely spin on the road bike.

I got in about 3 hours in the end. On a favourite route on the Cheshire Lanes I’d have to admit it was pretty hard work at times as, despite the sunshine, it was actually very windy out there! Mixed with the fact that I’ve not ridden for 3 weeks I don’t mind admitting to being pooped! But very happy!! It was wonderful to be back on my bike. A big thankyou to all the other smiling cyclists that waved, nodded or exchanged a friendly “Good Morning” with me today for making my ride all the more enjoyable. I’m sure I’ll be extra tired next week as I’m back at work on Monday, but I can’t wait to get stuck into it again.

And now, the Giro

How amazing was Saturday’s stage?!!

Always bound to be a spectacle,

A spectacle it was, as Thomas de Gendt took the big prize by winning in superb fashion!

Finally shedding all other riders on the Stelvio, he came in over 3 mins before any of the GC contenders and in the process jumped from 8th to 4th place overall on a truly fantastic day in the mountains.

 Stage 20 Last 3.5km

And today?

Congratulations Ryder Hesjedal,

the first Canadian to win a Grand Tour and a well deserved victory in what was a thrilling edition of the race!

Final Stage – Podium

A valiant Joaquim Rodriguez had to settle for second place, despite a strong time trial today. It was always gonna be a hard task for him to overcome Hesjedal in a race against the clock! Third place on the podium went to Thomas de Gendt after out performing Michele Scarponi.

Bravo to Marco Pinotti, taking the stage victory with a super fast ride!

And commiserations to Mark Cavendish, denied the Maglia Rosso by just a single point by Rodriguez who bumped up his points in the competition in the mountains yesterday. A small consolation after missing out on the overall title?

And that was that! Next? One week off and then it’s the Critérium du Dauphiné, where some of the Tour contenders will be stretching their legs ahead of July.

Lovely!

