Tags

, , , , , , ,

Well, the Tour of California drew to a close today. With Robert Gesink taking the overall title!

Finding his wings again, after breaking his femur last October, on Stage 7 where he climbed to the win on Mount Baldy.

Moving into the race lead with an impressive performance on a very tough day!

“I’m back, I’ve been working really, really hard the last months. It didn’t always work out in the beginning and that’s difficult on an athlete, always wanting to win. Now to be back at the highest level and to be the best uphill like this is unbelievable”

Stage 7 Final Sprint

The final stage of the race took the riders to LA for a short, fast 72km around the downtown area and it seemed quite fitting that Peter Sagan, star of the first half of the race, should take the final sprint and his 5th stage of the race.

Running away with a well deserved Green Jersey!

Stage 8 Final 5.3km

Meanwhile…

On the road to Lecco, on the 15th Stage of the Giro. A brutal day in the mountains was made nail bitingly fantastic to watch by the amazing efforts of Matteo Rabottini!!!

Leading the stage from pretty much start to finish he almost lost it all when Joaquim Rodriguez caught and passed him with 400m to go but the Farnese Vini rider jumped onto the wheel of the Katusha leader as he tried to accelerate past him, then unleashed a final winning effort to take the win after a gruelling 172km stage through rain and mist that featured four horrid climbs.

“After more than 150km in a break, winning in the sprint was an amazing feeling, like everyone I had come to the Giro hoping to win a stage… and I’ve done it! This is truly the best day of my life. I had Luca Scinto and Valentino Sciotti in the team car cheering me on. When Rodriguez came up to me, I almost lost all hope, but I held firm and it went well. To whom do I dedicate this victory? To the child who is set to make me a father in two weeks and to my girlfriend”.

Stage 15 Last 4km

The Maglia Rosa was back in J-Rod’s hands once again as Hesjedal lost ground on the final km’s of the day! Will he keep it? Who knows! And if he doesn’t who’ll have it at the end? At this point it is great to have no clue at all. It all just adds up to a brilliant race.

One thing to be certain of, is the riders will be glad tomorrow is a rest day!

