Tags

, , , , , , ,

As both the Giro and the Tour of California headed skyward in the last 24 hours there has been plenty of exciting racing to watch!

First up, California, where Ag2r breathe a sigh of relief as Sylvain Georges soloed to a fantastic win on Stage 6, finishing alone at Big Bear Lake. The team had been winless so far this season until earlier in the day when Sebastian Hinault won the Circuit de Lorraine, but Georges’ victory and epic peformance has surely taken some pressure off!

Of the stage he said “The most difficult thing about the final kilometers was in my head, I hurt everywhere, I was starting to go cross-eyed and was getting cramps, but I was able to focus and fight through it. It was the hardest 15km of my life.”

Stage 6 Last 3.5km

And Crazy Dave stays in Yellow!

And now, on to Italy…

The escape wins again, as Andrey Amador Bakkazakova takes Stage 14 and the biggest win of his career!

On the first truly tough day of the race the young Costa Rican rider proved the strongest.

“It is a dream to win in the Giro, especially when it is one of the mountain stages like this,” said Amador. “I am proud. This victory shows that if you work, the results follow. This year I have done many things, mentally and physically. It was a long hard day. I tried to manage what little I had left, and I’m very happy for the victory.”

Stage 14 Last 3.2km

Today’s stage was always bound to shake things up in the General Classification.

And I think there were a few people surprised, myself included, when Ryder Hesjedal jumped from the main group with about 3km to go, putting in a massive dig and in doing so, stepped back into the Pink Jersey!

“I felt good. It felt easy when the guys were setting the tempo,” He said to after finishing. “When some guys started to accelerate a bit, I knew it eased off after 3km, and I figured I’d give it a go and test myself. I wasn’t really thinking of anything except putting in an effort and seeing how the other guys did.”

And what of the World Champ? Well, fairing much better than rival sprinters Matt Goss, Mark Renshaw and JJ Haedo (all failing to finish) he came in over 30 mins down on the stage winning time but remains in the Red Jersey.

Roll on tomorrow…

