Tags

, , , , ,

American Time Trial Champ (6 time) and all round nutcase Dave Zabriskie blasts to victory in Bakersfield!

Taking the race lead from Peter Sagan who, by his own admission, was never likely to stay in yellow. In fact it was pretty obvious from his effort and body language during  the time trial that he was resigned to losing time, yet  happy!

“I went into today going for it, but it seemed from the start that I didn’t feel very good,” Sagan said. “There was a point I had to decide to rest up and save my energy for tomorrow, where I will try for another stage win.”

If I was going to lose the jersey to anyone I certainly wouldn’t mind losing it to Zabriskie. You’ve got to love this guy, mad as a box of frogs and a pretty decent bike rider too!

By the fireplace- Enjoy! 

Asked about his chances for overall victory and possibility of achieving what he and his team haven’t before, an overall victory in the race, Zabriskie said “It would be the biggest win of my career, it would be amazing, but it’s definitely not easy to come by, after getting second that many times (2009 & 2010). It would be a beautiful thing.”

Stage 5 Final Riders

