Tags

, , ,

Riders with hopes of Spring success be warned, Roger De Vlaeminck speaks his mind! In an interview with Belgian newspaper Het Nieuwsblad he pretty much agrees with me on the race on Sunday, which is nice!

“I hope Cancellara participates next year, then we see a different race, de Vlaeminck said. I knew beforehand that he would be next to me (on the list of all-time career victories). Tom can’t help it that this time he had no opposition. They were not second, but third-rate riders. Take Pozzato, if you want to win, your task for the last hundred kilometers is to stick within an inch of Boonen’s wheel. The competition provided him with no obstacles and they probably couldn’t have done any better than they did. For the Belgian fans, it was fantastic, but for the average, foreign cycling fans there was nothing to be seen, which is a sad affair. When he was twenty meters ahead, I already knew the outcome. Tom is the best spring rider of the last twenty years,” he said. But now he needs to try and win Milan-San Remo and the Giro di Lombardia like I did.”

